Meandro

Meandro 2017



Grape variety
40% Touriga Nacional, 30% Touriga Franca, 20% Tinta Roriz, 5% Tinta Barroca, 3% Tinto Cão, 2% Sousâo
Drinking window
2020-2025
Alc.
14,00%
Vinification
The grapes are crushed and subjected to a thermal shock followed by four hours of crushing in granite lagoons. The must is transferred to small capacity stainless steel vats with temperature control. The grapes are vinified separately.
Ripening
for 14 months in 225L second and third year French Allier oak barrels.
Light-bodied
Full-bodied
Straightforward
Complex


One of the most prestigious estates in the Douro Valley. Located on the easternmost part of the Douro, the Douro Superior, still unexplored and isolated. This "Quinta" has long provided the grapes for the production of the magical "Barca Velha", the most highly rated and expensive wine in Portugal.

The wines of Vale Meão are considered the absolute top of the Douro, and those who uncork a bottle of it can look back on 150 years of fascinating history. Quinta do Vale Meão was born as the culmination of the work of Dona Antonia Adelaide Ferreira. This woman of strong character was in charge of the House of Porto Ferreira in the middle of the 19th century and turned it into an empire. In 1877 she bought 300 hectares of land from the municipality of Vila Nova de Foz Cõa. Its ambition was to build a model vineyard from nothing. The project was not completed until a year before her death in 1896 - as she had to wait several years for the railway to reach her estate from Porto - but finally Quinta do Vale Meão was born. 
With Meandro, he offered a more accessible variant, and under the Monte Meão label are sold wines produced in small quantities, extremely tasty like this 100% Baga, coming from an estate with granite soil.

The nose reveals floral aromas combined with ripe red fruits and delicate spicy touches such as cocoa. The palate offers expressive fruit notes and also a sensation of freshness, mixed with reasonable concentration and a beautiful long complex finish. The tannins are dynamic and the whole is balanced between structure, intensity and freshness.  


  • Quinta do Vale Meão
    Producer

    Quinta do Vale Meão

    More

  • Douro
    Region

    Douro

    More


other wines from Quinta do Vale Meão See All see all

Meandro

Meandro 2017



Cépage
40% Touriga Nacional, 30% Touriga Franca, 20% Tinta Roriz, 5% Tinta Barroca, 3% Tinto Cão, 2% Sousâo
Drinking window
2020-2025
Alc.
14,00%
Vinification
Les raisins sont écrasés et soumis à un choc thermique suivi d'un foulage au pied pendant quatre heures dans des lagares en granit. Le moût est transféré dans des cuves inox de petite capacité avec contrôle de la température. Les raisins sont vinifiés séparément.
Elevage
durant 14 mois en fûts de chêne français de l'Allier de 225 litres de deuxième et troisième année.
Léger
Plein
Accessible
Complex


Un des domaines les plus prestigieux de la vallée du Douro. Situé sur la partie la plus à l’est, le Douro Superior, encore inexploré et isolé. Cette « Quinta » a longtemps fourni les raisins pour l’élaboration du magique « Barca Velha », vin le plus coté et le plus cher du Portugal.

Les vins de Vale Meão sont considérés comme le top absolu du Douro et ceux qui en débouchent une bouteille se mesurent à 150 ans d’une histoire fascinante. Quinta do Vale Meão a vu le jour comme l’aboutissement du travail de l’œuvre de Dona Antonia Adelaide Ferreira. Cette femme au fort caractère était au milieu du 19ème siècle en charge de la Maison de Porto Ferreira et en fit un empire. En 1877, elle acheta 300 ha de terres à la municipalité de Vila Nova de Foz Cõa. Son ambition était de construire un vignoble modèle, à partir de rien. Le projet ne fut achevé qu’un an avant sa mort en 1896 – car elle dût attendre plusieurs années pour que le chemin de fer atteigne son domaine depuis Porto – mais finalement, Quinta do Vale Meão était née. 
Avec Meandro, il propose une variante plus accessible et sous l’étiquette Monte Meão sont vendus des vins produits en petites quantités, extrêmement savoureux comme ce 100% Baga, provenant d’un domaine au sol graniteux.

Le nez s'exprime sur des arômes floraux combinés à des fruits rouges mûrs et de délicates touches épicées comme le cacao. La bouche offre des notes de fruits expressifs et aussi une sensation de fraîcheur, mêlée à une concentration raisonnable et une belle et longue finale complexe. Les tanins sont dynamiques et l'ensemble s'équilibre entre structure, intensité et fraîcheur.  


  • Quinta do Vale Meão
    Producteur

    Quinta do Vale Meão

    Les vins de Vale Meão sont considérés comme le top absolu du Douro et ceux qui en débouchent une bouteille se mesurent à 150 ans d’une... Plus

  • Douro
    Région

    Douro

    Le Douro est sans aucun doute la région viticole la plus emblématique du Portugal. La nature y est impressionnante, les vignobles construits en... Plus


Autres vins de Quinta do Vale Meão Tous see all